top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMia Allan

Why the sewing machine is so important

Updated: Apr 5, 2020




Without the year 1851, I think it's pretty safe to say we would live in a different world today. 1851 was the year the first sewing machine was mass-produced. Issac Singer, the first to design a commercial sewing machine, must've done something right because almost 200 years later this machine technique is still as relevant now. Research suggests that Singer states, "I explained to them how the work was to be fed over the table and under the presser foot by having a wheel having short pins on its periphery projecting through the slot on the table". Lawton Singer goes on to explain how this automatically caught, fed and freed from the pins.





The sewing machine revolutionised the making of clothes as well as other items. Without the sewing machine, the clothing industry would barely exist. Although traditional sewing machines were to help the production of clothes, a sewing machines fundamental use is to combine two pieces of fabric together.


The main motive for the sewing machine being the best tool in a Fabrication lab, for me, is due to history. Over the years, the sewing machine has stayed pretty true to its original design. This is interesting. We always see design evolving. So to see the sewing machine stay very similar to its original design with it also still being extremely relevant in today's society needs to be applauded.




Throughout my education, I have loved to experiment with the sewing machine. Not only have I experimented with different types of material such as wool, silk, fleece and more, to make garments, I have also experimented with different techniques such as embroidering, appliqué, quilting and more. I have also experimented with material such as soft plastic to create food packaging. Although I have only used my sewing machine to create pieces, I can assure you that the sewing machine in the Fabrication Lab will be well-loved!





Ultimately, Singer has made history with his design. Not only has he changed the clothing industry but also the furniture, packaging and design industry. So thank you, Singer, for designing my favourite tool to use in the Fabrication Lab.




References



23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page